Home > Busan2011


IAPH World Ports Conference
23 - 27 May 2011
Busan, Korea

Attended by some 700 delegates, accompanying persons, invited speakers and guests from 52 countries in the world, the 27th IAPH World Ports Conference was successfully held in Busan, Korea from May 23 to 27, hosted by Busan Port Authority, under the theme of "Embrace Our Future and Expand Our Scope".

Opening Ceremony
At the Opening Ceremony held on May 24 at the Busan Convention Center (BEXCO), Mr. Ki-Tae Roh, President and CEO of Busan Port Authority, welcomed all the participants to Busan, Korea by guaranteeing a successful and meaningful conference. IAPH President Mr. Gichiri Ndua, Managing Director,Kenya Ports Authority, Kenya, then took the podium to thank Mr. Roh for having made an excellent arrangement for such a wonderful conference, also adding that everyone looks forward to seeing the world's 5th largest container port, Busan Port.

Among the guests of honor who made a speech at the Opening were Mr.Jong-Hwan Chung, Korean Minister of Land, Transport and Maritime Affairs,Mr. Nam-Sik Hur, Mayor of Busan Metropolitan City, Mr. Kurt J. Nagel,President/CEO of the American Association of Port Authorities (AAPA), Mr.Norihiko Yamagata, Deputy Director General, Ports & Harbors Bureau, Japanese Ministry of Land, Transport, Infrastructure & Tourism, Mr. Eric Van den Eede, President of PIANC, and Mr. Keo-Don Oh, President of Korea Maritime University.

Working Sessions
Four working sessions were organized on four subject areas of "World economy and global trade", "Climate change and ports", "Port logistics and community system" and "City and port" from May 24 to 26. Some 30 speakers recruited from within the Association and from outside made informative and stimulating presentations, which provided an excellent forum to share best practices and experiences. 

IAPH Officers for 2011/2013
At the closing session, Dr. Geraldine Knatz, Executive Director, Port of Los Angeles, was unanimously elected as the 29th President of the Association,succeeding Mr. Gichiri Ndua who became Immediate Past President. In her inaugural address at the Plenary Session on May 26, Dr. Knatz stressed the importance of promoting IAPH and reaching beyond IAPH membership during her two-year term. She will serve as IAPH President until when the next conference is held in Los Angeles, USA, 6 to 10 May, 2013, hosted by Port of Los Angeles.

Elected as Vice Presidents:

1st Vice President (Regional Vice President for Asia/Oceania Region):
Mr. Grant Gilfillan, CEO, Sydney Ports Corporation, Australia

2nd Vice President (Regional Vice President for Africa/Europe Region):
Mr. Santiago Milà, Deputy Managing Director, Port Authority of Barcelona,Spain

3rd Vice President (Regional Vice President for Americas Region):
Mr. Bill Johnson, Port Director, Port of Miami, USA

Conference Vice President:
Mr. Arley Baker, Sr. Director, Communications, Port of Los Angeles, USA

Resolutions adopted
At the Plenary Session held on May 26, IAPH adopted six resolutions on the following topics.

1) Resolution on the Safety of Containers in the Supply Chain
2) Resolution on Development of Port Infrastructure
3) Resolution on the Environmental Ship Index (ESI) of WPCI
4) Resolution on Piracy
5) Resolution Expressing Sympathy to the Victims of the Great East Japan Earthquake
6) Resolution of Thanks to the Host

New IAPH Honorary Members
At the Plenary Session, the following individuals were elected Honorary Members of IAPH, as they extended meritorious service to the Association during their years in IAPH, severing ties with IAPH in the last two years since the IAPH Genoa Conference, May 2009.

1) Mr. José Perrot, Grand Port Maritime du Havre, France
2) Mr. José Luis Estrada, Puertos Del Estado, Spain
3) Mr. Haihu Lu, Shanghai International Port Group, China
4) Mr. Gichiri Ndua, Managing Director, Kenya Ports Authority, Kenya (IAPH President 2009-2011)

Mr. Manfred Reuter, Director, International Affairs, Hamburg Port Authority,was awarded with Presidential Citation.

IAPH Essay Contest 2011
The award presentation of prestigious "IAPH Essay Contest" took place at the Plenary Session where the outcome of the contest was announced and the winners were invited to receive the award from President Ndua. Please click here to download and see the winning entries.

Akiyama Award 2011 was awarded to Mr. Femi Jegede, AGM, Corporate & Strategic Planning, Nigerian Ports Authority, Nigeria, and his entry entitled "Strategy to Increase Port Efficiency and Productivity "The Great Leap".

Mr. Kiki Mohammad Hikmat, Assistant Corporate Secretary, PT Pelabuhan Indonesia II (Persero), Indonesia, was awarded with the "Merit Prize" as the second runner-up, on his entry entitled "Simple Ways To Keep Congestion AT Bay".

Busan Open Award 2011 was awarded to Mr. Matt McDonald, Infrastructure Manager, Port Nelson Limited, New Zealand, and his entry paper entitled "Successful Strategies for Making Your Port a Green Port" is the winner.

Mr. Amol Sawale, Associate General Manager, Department of Horticulture,Mundra Port & SEZ Limited, India, was awarded with the "Merit Prize" as the second runner-up, on his entry paper entitled "Successful strategies for making your port a Green Port".

IAPH Information Technology (IT) Award 2011

Presentation of IAPH IT Award to recognize and honor a port with an advanced IT application took place at the Plenary Session and the following ports were honored.  Please click here to download and see the winning entries.


          Gold Award - Port of Barcelona, Spain on "The TRANSPORTIC Project - The Mobility Solution Applied To Containers Transport In Barcelona Port"

Silver Award - National Port Administration (ANP), Uruguay on "Integration of IT systems to improve the management of Uruguay's commercial ports towards a community cargo system"

Bronze Award - Israel Ports Development & Assets Company Ltd., Israel on "An integrated community system for managing IMO Crew Lists and electronically monitoring the entrance of seamen into the country"

Next Conference in Los Angeles 2013
The 28th IAPH World Ports Conference will be held in Los Angeles, USA from May 6 to 10, 2013, hosted by Port of Los Angeles, under the theme of "Working on Today. Focusing on Tomorrow". For more details, please visit the conference site.

For full details, please download the minutes of the Plenary (26 May) and the Board Meetings (Pre-Conf on 24 May and Post-Conf on 26 May) in Busan.